Social media is not always good, sometimes it feels toxic. It is good to take a break from social sites or completely delete it. Instagram, a platform for sharing images and short videos, is a company owned by Facebook. In this article, you will find how to delete or deactivate your Instagram account.
Of course, no company would like its users to leave their platform, Instagram provides an option to temporarily de-activate Account, it can be re-activated whenever the user wants.
How to de-activate IG:
The de-activating account is temporary, if the user wants to leave the platform permanently then delete is the option after de-activating.
Temporary de-activating is a simple process. Users can’t do it using their apps, they must log in to their account using a laptop/ PC. Make sure that the username and password are correct.
Here are steps to de-activate:
- Login to your account using a desktop browser.
- Click your profile image at top of the page.
- Select Edit Profile.
- Go down to option “Temporary Disable My Account”.
- You will be asked why you are disabling your account, choose an option.
- Type your password again.
- Click Temporary Disable My Account.
Note: After deactivating your account, all your Instagram posts will not viewable on the Platform. You have to log in again to see your posts and make your account public.
What time of period does this de-activation is?
Account will remain de-activated as long as the user wants. It will only be re-activated when the user login again. You can de-activate IG once a week, if you re-activate and again want to de-activate then you have to wait 7 days.
Do you lose data during De-activation?
No, The posts uploaded by users will remain on the account but will not be viewable if an account is de-activated. Users will receive all data when re-activating IG Account.
Delete Instagram account from the app:
Following are the few steps to delete your Instagram account permanently. Users will not be able to recover or re-activate accounts after deleting their Instagram account.
- Login to Instagram using the browser.
- Find Instagram delete your account page.
- Choose an option for why you are leaving Instagram.
- Type your password.
- Delete your account permanently.